Any type of
divorce within the state of Indiana is referred to as a “dissolution of
marriage”. When going through a divorce, couples typically choose
to file for a no-fault divorce since it does not require either spouse
to divulge the reasons why they are choosing to end the marriage. Fault-based
complaints in Indiana provide three grounds – insanity, impotence,
or felony conviction.
To file for a divorce in the state, at least one spouse must have lived
in Indiana for a minimum of 6 months and at least 3 months in the county
of filing. It would also be prudent to hire a divorce attorney as early
as possible to help ensure that the process runs smoothly and fairly.
While there may be additional forms depending on your case, there are some
forms required to file regardless of your particular circumstances. This includes:
- Petition for Dissolution of Marriage
- Financial Declaration
- For those who have minor children, you must fill out a Child Support Obligation worksheet
Given that these documents may contain confidential information such as
social security numbers, bank account numbers, tax records, and medical
records, Indiana law requires that such documents are printed on light
After the forms are filed, the next step is to serve your spouse with a
copy, notifying them that the divorce case has been filed. Your spouse
may counterclaim, but an uncontested divorce is generally less costly,
which is why it is best to work out an agreement.
The Indianapolis divorce attorneys at Hollingsworth & Zivitz Attorneys
at Law have offered our clients strong litigation skills and compassionate
representation since 2004. We can provide you with mediation and collaborative
law services as viable alternatives to traditional litigation, and will
remain at your side during all proceedings.
Request an initial consultation at